Tuesday, 16 September 2008

Turnbull victorious in leadership spill

Win: Malcolm Turnbull

Malcolm Turnbull has seized the Liberal leadership from Brendan Nelson after winning this morning's party room ballot.

After the meeting at 9am (AEST) today, 45 MPs voted for Mr Turnbull while 41 MPs voted for Dr Nelson.

Dr Nelson called for the spill late yesterday in a move designed to surprise Mr Turnbull, who had been in Italy.

Dr Nelson has held the leadership since last November, when he won the job in a vote against Mr Turnbull by 45 votes to 42.

Mr Turnbull now becomes the third Liberal leader in less than a year.

He came into parliament four years ago when he won the inner Sydney seat of Wentworth.

He has been a journalist, barrister and a merchant banker in previous careers and was well known as the face of the republican movement.

Mr Turnbull's win ended Dr Nelson's troubled 10-month reign as party leader.

No comments: