Monday, 8 September 2008

Rees names top ministers

NSW Premier Nathan Rees has finalised his new cabinet, naming Eric Roozendaal as the state's new treasurer and putting John Della Bosca in charge of health.

After announcing the members of the frontbench yesterday, Mr Rees today revealed the allocation of portfolios.

John Hatzistergos remains attorney-general, while Deputy Premier Carmel Tebbutt takes on the climate change and environment portfolio as well as commerce.

David Campbell has been promoted from the police portfolio to the important transport ministry, while Verity Firth takes over education and training, as well as women.

Axed minister Frank Sartor's planning responsibilities have been handed to Kristina Keneally, while Maroubra MP Michael Daley enters cabinet as roads minister.


Meagher resigns to avoid Rees demotion
The embattled health minister stood down last night, after Mr Rees indicated she would be demoted if she stayed on. It is believed she went to factional heavyweight Eddie Obeid to discuss her dilemma but he advised her to stand down.

Budget worse than expected - Rees

NEW South Wales Premier Nathan Rees says the economic outlook for the state is more bleak than he expected, and difficult decisions will have to be made.

Rees confirmed as new NSW premier
Mr Rees is currently the Minister for Water and Emergency Services and was widely tipped to put his hand up as a non-factional premier. His selection has emerged from a full Caucus meeting at State Parliament in Sydney.

NSW Premier Morris Iemma resigns
Mr Iemma faced a caucus revolt this morning and Mr Rees had the numbers to overthrow Mr Iemma.

Gone: NSW Treasurer Michael Costa has been sacked
New South Wales Premier Morris Iemma has sacked his unpopular Treasurer Michael Costa in the wake of the state's failed electricity privatisation push.

Carmel Tebbutt named NSW deputy premier
Ms Tebbutt left the frontbench 18 months ago for family reasons
Labor MP Carmel Tebbutt has been chosen as the next deputy premier of New South Wales.

No comments: