Tuesday, 26 August 2008

Senators sworn in to Upper House

Federal Parliament's new and re-elected Senators have been sworn in to the Upper House.

The 15 new Senators pledged their allegiance to the country.

Opposition Leader Brendan Nelson and former treasurer Peter Costello sat side by side in the chamber to offer support.

The new Nationals Senator from New South Wales, John Williams, had a cheer squad who welcomed him at the Senate doors.

Labor Senator John Hogg was elected the Senate's new president.

It was the last swearing in ceremony for the Governor-General Michael Jeffery.


No comments: